Wednesday, June 23, 2010

Your View?

Watching The View is usually not a good idea for me. I tend to disagree with most of the things they say and find myself arguing with my t.v. for the first 25 minutes. In the States, I hardly watched the show (mainly because of Rosie, but thats a whole different topic!). However, in Germany and more specifically my house, I receive very few American t.v. choices. Weekdays at 9AM my choices are The View or German programs. So either The View wins, or my radio comes on.
Well, my husband has confiscated my iPod and the radio was nothing but static this morning. So, The View won. And boy did I tell them what I thought!
My first 'hot topic' was, not so surprisingly, an issue with our President. He is a frequently recurring topic on this show. Here is the deal: I did not vote for him or agree with most of the things he stood for, but he is now the President of the United States. Therefore, I support him and I will until he is no longer in office. Finally, there is something I can say "Go Obama" for, and so many other people have a problem with it. I don't know the details so I will not pretend to know them, but what I understood was he asked for prayers for our nation in regards to the oil/Gulf issue. Woohoo for that! Yet, people have a problem with this?? You have a problem with your president praying, but see nothing wrong with him being clueless in so many areas? Which directly leads to my next 'hot topic'.
The whole debate over General McChrystal and his comments about the president- Obama is our Commander in Chief, the leader of our Military. He is not, however, a Military leader! The man knows very little about Military rank, protocols, daily life of servicemembers, etc. He has never served in the military. It's like asking a dog trainer to be in charge of a electric company. Sure, he will get the job done. But wouldn't it be smarter to ask an electrician to run the company?! With that said, though, the military has certain rules and regs in regard to our President. A member of the US Military (I do not care about your branch or your rank, it applies to all) is not allowed to speak ill of the President. In or out of uniform, representing yourself, your unit, or your branch. Military members are to hold the President in a good light and with respect. Look at your chain of command; the guy is at the top!
I know, I'm big confusing mess. I will admit, President Obama was not the man I wanted to run my country. I was sad and 50 other negative words when he was elected. However. He is now the man running my country. So I will support him. I will sometimes do that while grinding my teeth/biting my tongue. But I will support him.
My third and final 'hot topic' rant is this. The debate over men that have had homosexual relations donating blood. FYI, they are not allowed to (if they are honest, that is). The brainy people that determined this were not excluding people because they wanted to be jerks. Have you not heard that blood donations are always needed? I highly doubt they want to refuse anyone. But it is their job to refuse blood donations that might harm the receiver. I do not care about your sexual preferance. That is your business, not mine. But there is a higher chance of your blood carrying HIV and Hep B. Those are facts, not prejudices. I have been around HIV. It is ugly and horrible and something I hope to never encounter again. If my child needs a blood transfusion, I want to be confident that the blood bank has done as much as they can to ensure my child is receiving blood that is not contaminated. Oh yeah, and go to your local blood bank and ask to donate. You will fill out a couple forms that ask about your drug use and sexual history. If you are promiscious or use drugs, you will not be donating! Yet, The View has no problem with that. Hmmm.
After a while, I made the right choice and turned my t.v. off. That show really heats me up! They say what they think (or that is what they advertise they do) which I am all about. But their views are not mine! I am not a liberal person. Sure, on a few things I will lean to the left. But as a whole, I am a conservative, by the books, kind of girl. And very rarely are my views expressed on this show.
What about yours? Does The View align with your views? Do you find yourself agreeing with Joy, Whoopi, Elizabeth, or Sherry on most topics? Who would you like to get rid of/take the place of?

No comments:

Post a Comment